SKyPAC Hosts the South Central Kentucky Region Scholastic Art & Writing Awards

Post By: The SKyPAC
Date: February 13, 2015

The Southern Kentucky Performing Arts Center (SKyPAC) will host the Scholastic Art
and Writing Awards exhibition in the SKyPAC Main Gallery from February 4 – February 27, 2015.

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards program is the longest-running, most prestigious recognition program for teenage artists and writers in the United States, administered by the nonprofit Alliance for Young Artists & Writers. To be considered, teens in grades 7 through 12 and their teachers submitted work that demonstrates originality, technical skill and personal voice. Students and teachers submitted more than 500 works for consideration which were judged by a panel of local artists and teachers.

A total of 166 works created by students from 24 counties in South Central Kentucky (Adair, Allen, Barren, Butler, Christian, Clinton, Cumberland, Edmonson, Grayson, Green, Hart, Logan, Mead, Metcalfe, Monroe, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Russell, Simpson, Taylor, Todd, Warren) will be featured in the 2015 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards exhibition.

The SKyPAC galleries are free and open to the public Monday through Friday 11:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. For more information about the SKyPAC galleries visit or call 270-904-5001.

The South Central Kentucky Scholastic Art & Writing Award-winning students, by school, are as follows:

Barren County Middle School (Educator: Marla England) – Taylor Davidson, Jaquelinne Solis-Villarreal and Grace York

Bowling Green High School (Educator: William Stinson) – Francis Camper, Chloe Games, Carlie Hardin, Diamond Hollis, Madeleine Jones, Ellan Luna, Sonora Schuck, Kathryn Shadowen and Alanna Valery

Butler County High School (Educator: Catron Burdette) – Hallie Berry, Ashton Garrison and Carelissa Young

Caverna High School (Educator: Patricia Rice) – Cailee Carter, Madison Faulkner, Dalton Kolley, Alyia Maulden and Dylan Wilson

Drakes Creek Middle School (Educator: Kandice Kilcoyne) – Keiko Nishijima

Greenwood High School (Educator: Kim Soule) – Nicole Agro, Cameron Brown, Nicole Camargo, Skylar Earnhart, Rebecca Fallon, Olivia Freas, Cyde Kitchens, Jodi Nishihijima, Madison Phillips, Feride Sadriji and Jacky Sanchez

James E Bazzell Middle School (Educator: Charleen Brinson) – Krista Graves and Reba Page

Metcalfe County High School (Educator: Chris Long) – Jessie Boles and Madison Pierce

Muhlenberg County High School, East (Educator: Jessica Scates) – Lee Abbott and Courtney Stanley

Muhlenberg County High School, West (Educators: Leigh Stewart and Kimberly McClellan) – Jacob Abbott, Allie Brumfield, Ashley Butler, Alexander Clack, Alberto Gualdi, Noad Hagy, Alexis Jessup, Makalia Mayes, Alicia Nelson, Ashelyn Piper, Kaylee Smith and Drew Tucker


Ohio County High School (Educators: Farrah Balhasen and Tara Maikranz) – Keely Clubbs, Emily Embry, Alyson Fulton, Karey Leach, Taylor Love, Megan Middleton, Ashley Schell, Gabriella Shephard, Jessica Shephard and Rylan Smith


Ohio County Middle School (Educator: Katrina Bullington) – Laryssa Carter, Alexandria Culbertson, Hannah Duncan, Taylor Filback, Brianna Henderson, Caleb Kennedy, Brent Mattos, Jalyn Poynter and Alyssa Taylor

South Warren Middle School (Educator: Paul Johnson) – Kelly Huetter and Jack Jones

Taylor County High School (Educator: Christina Hicks) – Sheridan Farris, Mollie Pittman, Rachel Roberts and Emily Swafford

Warren East Middle School (Educator: Missi Carini) – Lauren Alford, Sam Armbrust, Alexis Austin, Alexia Barnes, Nicole Bratcher, Madeline Chapman, Stephen Claborn, Ashley Clark, Brandon Clarkson, Cameron Davidson, Alexis Eakles, Shakiya Gatewodd, Adaja Green, Zack Grimes, Jason Hayes, Justine Haynes, Katherine Kinser, Abigal Lappe, Makenzie Lyons, Jayden Massey, Clarissa McKinney, Miranda Montgomery, Chris Morales, Tavion Morris, Sarah Neagle, Ashton and Dameon Price