Scholastic Art & Writing Awards Exhibition


January 15, 2020 through February 28, 2020
+ Add to Google Calendar

Reception Saturday, February 29, 2020, 11:00 a.m. – 1:09 p.m., Awards ceremony promptly at 11:30 a.m.

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards have an impressive legacy dating back to 1923, when Scholastic Founder, Robbie Robinson, started the program as a way to honor the creative achievement of high school students. Some things have changed with the Awards over the years—new categories like Comic Art and Video Game Design—but a few things have not.

First is freedom of expression! The Scholastic Awards places no limitations on content; students are free to pursue any idea or topic in their art and writing. Blind adjudication has also been a core tenet of the awards since day one. Work is evaluated on its own merits, with jurors having no information on the identity of the young artist or writer, and lastly, the three criteria used to select work:

Originality; Technical Skill; and the Emergence of a Personal Voice or Vision.

The Scholastic Awards place a high priority on work that challenges boundaries and can communicate new and interesting ideas. A noteworthy roster of artists and writers earned Scholastic Awards as teenagers including: Andy Warhol, Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Lena Dunham, Robert Redford, Joyce Carol Oates, and ME—ask any other scholastic alumni to raise hands.

In 2020, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards received hundreds of thousands of submissions in 29 categories from students in the United States and U.S. Schools abroad. Here in our region, we are proud to report almost 700 works were received this year and approximately 200 art and writing pieces are featured in the South Central Kentucky regional exhibition opening January 16 – February 29th, 2020, with a reception Saturday, February 29th from 11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

SKyPAC is South Central Kentucky’s regional affiliate representing 23 counties. Submissions are accepted annually from August-December with a specific December deadline date. Please reference the affiliates page at

Congratulations to this year’s award recipients: